

January 12, 2023 Simbli Meeting Link • YouTube Meeting Link

District 1: Ms. Heidi Hensley District 2: Vacant District 3: Ms. Linda E. Davis District 4: Dr. Patricia Yager District 5: Mr. Tim Denson District 6: Dr. Mumbi Anderson (Vice-President) District 7: Dr. LaKeisha Gantt (President) District 8: Ms. Nicole Hull District 9: Mr. Mark Evans

# 1. Meeting Opening / Roll Call - Start of video

#### Present:

H. Hensley, L. Davis, P. Yager, T. Denson, M. Anderson, L. Gantt, N. Hull, M. Evans

- 2. District Recognitions and Board Announcements 1:49 in video
  - District Recognitions MLK Art and Writing contest winners and January Employee of the Month were postponed until the Feb. 9 board meeting due to inclement weather.
- 3. Public Comment 4:45 in video
- 4. Adoption of Agenda 33:47 in video
  - Motion by L. Davis, seconded by T. Denson, to adopt the agenda. Approved unanimously.

#### 5. Information Items - 34:39 in video

- Early Head Start/Head Start Policy Council Meeting Minutes and Reports
- SPLOST Monthly Report
- Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 6. Board/Community Reports 35:35 in video
  - Community Oversight Committee/SPLOST Report
  - Georgia School Boards Association Report

• Supporting documents attached in agenda link.

# 7. Board President's Report - 43:48 in video

• Nominations for renaming of Alps Road and Chase Street elementary schools. L. Gantt had previously nominated that Alps Road be renamed Bettye Henderson Holston Elementary and that Chase Street be renamed Johnnie Lay Burks Elementary. L. Davis nominated that Chase Street be renamed Killian-Burks Elementary. Those nominations will be on the table for four weeks and will be voted on at the board's Feb. 9 meeting in the order of which they were received for each facility.

8. Superintendent's Report - 1:13:15 in video

• No report.

## 9. Presentations and Discussions - 1:13:26 in video

- District 2 vacancy: Interviews and appointment. The three candidates for the vacant seat Mary P. Bagby, Claudia Butts, and Antwon Stephens — presented to the board. P. Yager nominated C. Butts for appointment to the seat. L. Gantt nominated M. Bagby for appointment. M. Evans nominated A. Stephens for appointment. Nominations were to be considered in the order of which they were made. The board voted unanimously to appoint C. Butts to the seat. She will be sworn in prior to the board's Feb. 2 work session.
- ERSEA Presentation and Governance Training: Head Start/Early Head Start Governing Body Annual Training and Program Governance Plan Review - 1:52:00 in video
- Review of 2023 CCSD Legislative Priorities 2:11:26 in video
- Selection of representatives for Board Community Committees 2:34:02 in video
- Supporting documents attached in agenda link.

## 10. Items for Approval - 2:48:17 in video

- Motion by P. Yager, seconded by M. Evans, to approve items 1-4. Approved unanimously.
  - Dec. 15, 2022 Board Meeting Minutes
  - Head Start/Early Head Start Program Governance Plan Approval
  - Pre-K Annual Grant Approve intent to apply
  - Pre-K Summer Transition Program Grant Approve intent to apply
- Motion by P. Yager, seconded by H. Hensley, to approve items 5-7. Approved unanimously.
  - FY24 Budget Timeline
  - January 2023 Personnel Board Report
  - Personnel Board Addendum
- Motion by T. Denson, seconded by L. Davis, to table a vote on recommendations on Policy GAE(1): Discrimination Complaints and Policy IDBA: Sex Education until the board's Feb. 9 meeting. Approved unanimously.
- Motion by T. Denson, seconded by L. Davis, to approve all other policies for board approval. Approved unanimously.
- Motion by L. Davis, seconded by P. Yager, to approve items 9-10. Approved unanimously.

- Field Trips
- Clarke Middle School Modular Unit Lease
- Supporting documents attached in agenda link.

11. Adjournment - 2:56:30 in video

• Motion to adjourn by L. Davis, seconded by M. Anderson. Approved unanimously.